Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[SOLVED] PCMCIA trouble
07-01-2015, 12:20 PM (This post was last modified: 07-04-2015 11:25 AM by jqv.)
Post: #1
[SOLVED] PCMCIA trouble
Hello Delicate people!

I found my first old laptop the other day and wanted to see if I could get some life back to it. Tried 11 different recent lightweight distros and Delicate is the only one that boots up from CD! Big Grin

AST Ascentia A+ (A70) Laptop (1997)
Pentium MMX 150Mhz
80MB RAM (16MB on motherboard +64MB expansion)
12.1" 800x600 Screen
Cirrus GD 7548 graphics
Modular Smartbay with bootable CD-ROM (works) and diskette drive (dead)
6495MB Harddrive (horribly noisy, high frequency sound like a dentist drill!)
- I change it to a larger and more silent 40GB drive (had to make a small boot partition beacuse of BIOS only recogized it as a 8.4GB drive)

Works: Video and touchpad up and running, In Xorg config use 8 bit 256 color screen, auto or ps/2 mouse and vesa video driver, in Tiny X chose Xvesa X Server, 800x600 TrueColor.

Does not work (even with acpi=off):

1) Not so important: Sound - sndconfig takes a long time (modprobe) and can't find a pnp card, tried manual settings and choose Crystal C423X but have no idea abount IRQ, ports, dma etc, tried some random settings but got only a very low test sound at best.

2) Critical: PCMCIA will not work, tried both pcmcia kernel and pcmcia-cs external.

Back in 2002 I had Debian 3.0 Woody installed successfully, but it was a long time ago... Smile
Old page from 1999 installing Redhat: http://users.ics.aalto.fi/kaip/linux/ast...tia_a.html

Some looks into dmesg when trying pcmcia kernel:

using yenta_socket instead of i82365
fc:00.0 Unassigned class [ffff]: Illegal Vendor ID Device ffff (rev ff)
PCI: device fc:00.0 has unknown header type 7f, ignoring.

Errors when trying pcmcia-cs external:

Intel ISA/PCI/CardBus PCIC probe:
Cirrus PD6832
cs: cb_alloc(bus 252): vendor 0xfff, device 0xfff ROM image dump:
cs: no valid ROM images found!
cardmgr[f6]: unsupported card in socket 1
cpilib: Unable to read /proc/bus/pci/000:fe/00.7
lspci Unable to read the standard configuration space header of decvice 0000:fc:007

The cards I tried with no luck (all same errors):

* DeLock PCMCIA Gigabit Ethernet (RT8169)
* ST Lab 10/100 FastEthernet (RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+)
* D-link DE-650 Ethernet
* D-Link DWL-G630 (RT2561/RT61 rev B 802.1g)
* Netgear WG511 v2 (Marvell 88w8335 [Libertas] 802.1b/g Wireless rev3)

Ran modprobe i82365 fast_pci=1 and mobprobe cs as suggested here in the forums, no errors but does not change anything.
Also tried adding PCIC=i82365 to /etc/pcmcia/config.opt but get syntax error i dmesg.

I'm out of ideas. What can I do more?

/Jorgen

   


Edit: solved
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-02-2015, 05:48 PM
Post: #2
RE: PCMCIA trouble
(07-01-2015 12:20 PM)jqv Wrote:  Hello Delicate people!

Hello Jorgen :]


(07-01-2015 12:20 PM)jqv Wrote:  I found my fist old laptop the other day and wanted to see if I could get some life back to it. Tried 11 different recent lightweight distros and Delicate is the only one that boots up from CD! Big Grin

Ugh :] Nice, but strange. I don't think we do anything non-standard.


(07-01-2015 12:20 PM)jqv Wrote:  AST Ascentia A+ (A70) Laptop (1997)
Pentium MMX 150Mhz
80MB RAM (16MB on motherboard +64MB expansion)
12.1" 800x600 Screen
Cirrus GD 7548 graphics
Modular Smartbay with bootable CD-ROM (works) and diskette drive (dead)
6495MB Harddrive (horribly noisy, high frequency sound like a dentist drill!)
- I change it to a larger and more silent 40GB drive (had to make a small boot partition beacuse of BIOS only recogized it as a 8.4GB drive)

Yeah. The HW looks suitable for DeLi(cate).


(07-01-2015 12:20 PM)jqv Wrote:  Works: Video and touchpad up and running, In Xorg config use 8 bit 256 color screen, auto or ps/2 mouse and vesa video driver, in Tiny X chose Xvesa X Server, 800x600 TrueColor.

Hmmm .. hard to guess what's wrong with Xorg. Do you have any logs when trying 800x600 TrueColor?


(07-01-2015 12:20 PM)jqv Wrote:  Does not work (even with acpi=off):

1) Not so important: Sound - sndconfig takes a long time (modprobe) and can't find a pnp card, tried manual settings and choose Crystal C423X but have no idea abount IRQ, ports, dma etc, tried some random settings but got only a very low test sound at best.

You mean like low-quality sound or low-frequency? There are more Crystal soundcards in the list.


(07-01-2015 12:20 PM)jqv Wrote:  2) Critical: PCMCIA will not work, tried both pcmcia kernel and pcmcia-cs external.

Back in 2002 I had Debian 3.0 Woody installed successfully, but it was a long time ago... Smile
Old page from 1999 installing Redhat: http://users.ics.aalto.fi/kaip/linux/ast...tia_a.html

Some looks into dmesg when trying pcmcia kernel:

using yenta_socket instead of i82365
fc:00.0 Unassigned class [ffff]: Illegal Vendor ID Device ffff (rev ff)
PCI: device fc:00.0 has unknown header type 7f, ignoring.

Errors when trying pcmcia-cs external:

Intel ISA/PCI/CardBus PCIC probe:
Cirrus PD6832
cs: cb_alloc(bus 252): vendor 0xfff, device 0xfff ROM image dump:
cs: no valid ROM images found!
cardmgr[f6]: unsupported card in socket 1
cpilib: Unable to read /proc/bus/pci/000:fe/00.7
lspci Unable to read the standard configuration space header of decvice 0000:fc:007

The cards I tried with no luck (all same errors):

* DeLock PCMCIA Gigabit Ethernet (RT8169)
* ST Lab 10/100 FastEthernet (RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+)
* D-link DE-650 Ethernet
* D-Link DWL-G630 (RT2561/RT61 rev B 802.1g)
* Netgear WG511 v2 (Marvell 88w8335 [Libertas] 802.1b/g Wireless rev3)

Ran modprobe i82365 fast_pci=1 and mobprobe cs as suggested here in the forums, no errors but does not change anything.
Also tried adding PCIC=i82365 to /etc/pcmcia/config.opt but get syntax error i dmesg.

I'm out of ideas. What can I do more?

Some laptops have a pcmcia/cardbus configuration in the CMOS/BIOS Setup. In some cases a switching to different mode helps. Sometimes it needs a combination with acpi=off, but it's usually about a lot of trying.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-02-2015, 05:59 PM
Post: #3
RE: PCMCIA trouble
There seems to be the "Crystal 4236" soundcard. So, your choice was probably the right one. But I couldn't find the right parameters for that piece.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-02-2015, 10:10 PM
Post: #4
RE: PCMCIA trouble
(07-02-2015 05:48 PM)tavvva Wrote:  Hello Jorgen :]

Good to be here and thank you for helping out Smile

(07-02-2015 05:48 PM)tavvva Wrote:  
(07-01-2015 12:20 PM)jqv Wrote:  Works: Video and touchpad up and running, In Xorg config use 8 bit 256 color screen, auto or ps/2 mouse and vesa video driver, in Tiny X chose Xvesa X Server, 800x600 TrueColor.

Hmmm .. hard to guess what's wrong with Xorg. Do you have any logs when trying 800x600 TrueColor?

To clarify: The desktop works fine, no problem what so ever Smile

(07-02-2015 05:48 PM)tavvva Wrote:  
(07-01-2015 12:20 PM)jqv Wrote:  1) Not so important: Sound - sndconfig takes a long time (modprobe) and can't find a pnp card, tried manual settings and choose Crystal C423X but have no idea abount IRQ, ports, dma etc, tried some random settings but got only a very low test sound at best.

You mean like low-quality sound or low-frequency? There are more Crystal soundcards in the list.

There seems to be the "Crystal 4236" soundcard. So, your choice was probably the right one. But I couldn't find the right parameters for that piece.

The sound is good but very low and almost not hearable (a voice saying something?) but now suddenly it was detected just now when I tried again! Tongue

Is there a mixer so you can control the volume settings?

(07-02-2015 05:48 PM)tavvva Wrote:  
(07-01-2015 12:20 PM)jqv Wrote:  2) Critical: PCMCIA will not work, tried both pcmcia kernel and pcmcia-cs external.
...

Some laptops have a pcmcia/cardbus configuration in the CMOS/BIOS Setup. In some cases a switching to different mode helps. Sometimes it needs a combination with acpi=off, but it's usually about a lot of trying.

Nope, no pcmcia or cardbus settings in BIOS... I have booted many many many times the last couple of days and covered a lot of different combinations of pcmcia-cs, built-in kernel yenta_socket, apci=off, BIOS PnP-OS, etc... So its hard keeping track and feel like I randomly fumble in the dark right now... Confused

I found a technical old printout in the laptop case with a list of "Recource Usage". This say that PCMCIA Cards have these resources:

Ethernet IRQ 5, I/O-address 0300, Upper memory D400-D7FF
Token Ring IRQ 9, I/O-address 0A20, Upper memory D000-D3FF (ROM), D800-DBFF (RAM).

Is this helpful and how and where do I add parameters to the pcmcia modules, or is this not a solution?

Here is a photo of dmesg booting up with built-in pcmcia and acpi on:
   

Photo of dmesg booting up with built-in pcmcia and acpi off:
   

dmesg booting up with pcmcia-cs and acpi on:
   

dmesg booting up with pcmcia-cs and acpi off:
   

Any hints are much appreciated! Smile

/Jorgen
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-04-2015, 08:37 AM (This post was last modified: 07-04-2015 11:27 AM by jqv.)
Post: #5
Smile [SOLVED] RE: PCMCIA trouble
Ha! Finally got the oldest DE-650 ethernet card going with both built-in and pcmcia-cs by adjusting memory in /etc/pcmcia/config.opts

include memory 0xd0000-0xdffff
include memory 0xc0000-0xcffff

Got it from http://pcmcia-cs.sourceforge.net and read there in
"2.5 Memory probe faliures" that this could help, and it did. Smile

I'm writing this on the old machine in the Netsurf browser!
Missing cut-n-paste, very annoying Wink

(07-02-2015 05:48 PM)tavvva Wrote:  [...] it's usually about a lot of trying.

It sure was! Big Grin

Thanks for keeping ancient machines like this one alive with Delicate!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-08-2015, 07:23 PM (This post was last modified: 07-08-2015 07:34 PM by tavvva.)
Post: #6
RE: [SOLVED] PCMCIA trouble
Hello :]
Sorry for the delay in answers.

(07-04-2015 08:37 AM)jqv Wrote:  Ha! Finally got the oldest DE-650 ethernet card going with both built-in and pcmcia-cs by adjusting memory in /etc/pcmcia/config.opts

include memory 0xd0000-0xdffff
include memory 0xc0000-0xcffff

Got it from http://pcmcia-cs.sourceforge.net and read there in
"2.5 Memory probe faliures" that this could help, and it did. Smile

Ugh. Thanks a lot for letting us know. You know, it's difficult to do troubleshooting with old hardware as we often don't have the same model for testing. I'm glad a working procedure could be found on the Internet.

(07-04-2015 08:37 AM)jqv Wrote:  I'm writing this on the old machine in the Netsurf browser!
Missing cut-n-paste, very annoying Wink

Great!
For copy-n-paste I would recommend skipstone. It's a bit more featured
web browser and should run ok on your HW. To copy to clipboard just
select the text with mouse and then paste with the middle mouse button.

(07-04-2015 08:37 AM)jqv Wrote:  
(07-02-2015 05:48 PM)tavvva Wrote:  [...] it's usually about a lot of trying.

It sure was! Big Grin

Thanks for keeping ancient machines like this one alive with Delicate!

Nice to read that :]

(07-04-2015 08:37 AM)jqv Wrote:  Is there a mixer so you can control the volume settings?

aumix should be available in the menu.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-09-2015, 12:16 AM
Post: #7
RE: [SOLVED] PCMCIA trouble
(07-08-2015 07:23 PM)tavvva Wrote:  
(07-04-2015 08:37 AM)jqv Wrote:  I'm writing this on the old machine in the Netsurf browser!
Missing cut-n-paste, very annoying Wink

Great!
For copy-n-paste I would recommend skipstone. It's a bit more featured
web browser and should run ok on your HW. To copy to clipboard just
select the text with mouse and then paste with the middle mouse button.

Thank you for the rec, there is no middle button on the touchpad Wink
but CTRL-C and CTRL-V works fine!

(07-08-2015 07:23 PM)tavvva Wrote:  
(07-04-2015 08:37 AM)jqv Wrote:  Is there a mixer so you can control the volume settings?

aumix should be available in the menu.

Thanks again! Turned up vol and mix so I could hear the test sound a little better now.

/Jorgen
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)

Contact Us | DeLi(cate) Linux | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication