Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
No X Windows
05-30-2014, 07:33 AM (This post was last modified: 05-30-2014 07:54 AM by tavvva.)
Post: #11
RE: No X Windows
(05-29-2014 05:14 PM)eggi36 Wrote:  Ram is 104 megabyte. More isn't possible. Swap is 200 megabyte.

What version of CD are you trying to install from? Do you install with pacman or just unpack the delibase?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-31-2014, 11:49 AM
Post: #12
RE: No X Windows
Alpha 0.4.
Installing with pacman. When I'm unpacking the database, the system installs fine but if course no programs are installed.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-01-2014, 02:54 PM (This post was last modified: 06-01-2014 02:56 PM by tavvva.)
Post: #13
RE: No X Windows
(05-31-2014 11:49 AM)eggi36 Wrote:  Alpha 0.4.
Installing with pacman. When I'm unpacking the database, the system installs fine but if course no programs are installed.

you prpbably mean 0.1-alpha4
could you please record a video of the steps you do?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-01-2014, 11:28 PM
Post: #14
RE: No X Windows
I'm sorry ... I just tested the alpha4 floppies and you're right. The pacman binary is missing.... needs to be fixed in the next version
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-02-2014, 06:30 PM (This post was last modified: 06-02-2014 06:31 PM by eggi36.)
Post: #15
RE: No X Windows
Sure, here is a video.

http://1drv.ms/T7yzW2

Edit: Thank you anway. Good support!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-02-2014, 11:32 PM (This post was last modified: 06-02-2014 11:32 PM by tavvva.)
Post: #16
RE: No X Windows
(06-02-2014 06:30 PM)eggi36 Wrote:  Sure, here is a video.

http://1drv.ms/T7yzW2

Edit: Thank you anway. Good support!

Yeah, like I wrote yesterday, my fault. I redesigned the install script to be common for the floppy and for the CD and the pacman binary was too big to fit on the floppy, but I forgot to disable the pacman install mode for the floppy. Yesterday I got a nice idea to put a statically linked pacman binary on the CD as it is only needed for the CD installation (well .... maybe for one of the HDD install modes too). I'm currently testing that way.

Just one important note ... you can very probably boot from the CD even if your BIOS doesn't support booting from the CD ... the boot floppy contains a special module for booting from CDs .... just select the second option "Boot from the CD-ROM" when prompted ... you might experience some error code when doing that .... but after retrying you should be able to boot .... it's a known bug in the smartboot module.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2014, 02:51 PM
Post: #17
RE: No X Windows
Sadly that does not work either. After booting from floppy and selecting the CD in Smart Boot Manager, it hangs at "loading stage2...". It seems to be a problem with the harddrive (it is too big. bios only supports up to 8GB but the HDD is 20GB). If I boot without harddrive it loads just fine. Only way to boot for me is with the two floppies.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-16-2014, 01:04 AM
Post: #18
RE: No X Windows
Please, try 0.1 alpha5 CD ...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-08-2014, 11:29 AM
Post: #19
RE: No X Windows
Thank you, now it is working!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-08-2014, 09:52 PM
Post: #20
RE: No X Windows
Thanks for the feedback. Moving to RESOLVED.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)

Contact Us | DeLi(cate) Linux | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication