Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
PROBLEM: slim: Stale lockfile found, removing it
07-06-2012, 12:18 PM (This post was last modified: 07-06-2012 01:23 PM by Massa.)
PROBLEM: slim: Stale lockfile found, removing it
Hi everybody,
I'm new to Delicate and to Linux. I tried to install OS on an old laptot (pentium III, 192 MB ram, 570 MHz) following these

http://delicate-linux.net/forum/showthread.php?tid=180

instructions step by step, but when I write

service slim start

in the console nothing happens but the written

slim: Stale lockfile found, removing it

appears and I can't go ahead..
I need help because I think Delicate could be a good OS for my old pc, but if I can't solve this problem I will have to think to something else.. Sad
Every advice / suggestion would be appreciated!
Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-06-2012, 10:39 PM
RE: PROBLEM: slim: Stale lockfile found, removing it
(07-06-2012 12:18 PM)Massa Wrote:  Hi everybody,
I'm new to Delicate and to Linux. I tried to install OS on an old laptot (pentium III, 192 MB ram, 570 MHz) following these

http://delicate-linux.net/forum/showthread.php?tid=180

instructions step by step, but when I write

service slim start

in the console nothing happens but the written

slim: Stale lockfile found, removing it

appears and I can't go ahead..
I need help because I think Delicate could be a good OS for my old pc, but if I can't solve this problem I will have to think to something else.. Sad
Every advice / suggestion would be appreciated!
Thanks!

Hello :]

Is your X server properly configured? = Are you able to to get into GUI with startx ?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
07-07-2012, 09:19 AM
Hi,
thank you for your answer! When I login as root or as unprivileged user and type startx in the console I get:

Fatal server error:
no screens found
XIO: fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"