Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
'Domino tiles' in Gnumeric
03-16-2012, 08:28 PM
Post: #1
'Domino tiles' in Gnumeric
I don't know if I'm posting it in the right thread, because I normally don't touch Gnumeric.
So it's hard for me to say if it was right in the beginning this way or later.
I don't know what causes the problem, but Gnumeric is a bit messed up
I have a screenshot and I think that makes the problem perfectly clear.
Oh and I tested it whit the root account and then it's allright.
I've allready uninstalled it and installed it again but that doesn't solve the problem.
Not everything seems to be removed (after the new Gnumeric install, I see the recently opened files)
And I don't know what to remove more to be sure that it's perfectly clean.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   

Hardware in use: Compaq PIII- 1GHZ, Geforce 4000, 256mb, 80gb HD
Dutch Delicate Linux information: http://www.delicatelinux.nl.ae
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2012, 08:40 PM
Post: #2
RE: 'Domino tiles' in Gnumeric
(03-16-2012 08:28 PM)nl2stk Wrote:  I don't know if I'm posting it in the right thread, because I normally don't touch Gnumeric.
So it's hard for me to say if it was right in the beginning this way or later.
I don't know what causes the problem, but Gnumeric is a bit messed up
I have a screenshot and I think that makes the problem perfectly clear.
Oh and I tested it whit the root account and then it's allright.
I've allready uninstalled it and installed it again but that doesn't solve the problem.
Not everything seems to be removed (after the new Gnumeric install, I see the recently opened files)
And I don't know what to remove more to be sure that it's perfectly clean.

Uhhh ohhh .... those "domino tiles" are unicode characters which are missing the right font to be displayed correctly. It very probably has any data in your home directory, but I don't know how that happened. I suppose your locale settings are nl_NL.UTF-8, right?

Try to rename or delete the .gnumericrc file located in the user's home directory.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2012, 09:10 PM
Post: #3
RE: 'Domino tiles' in Gnumeric
(03-16-2012 08:40 PM)tavvva Wrote:  Uhhh ohhh .... those "domino tiles" are unicode characters which are missing the right font to be displayed correctly. It very probably has any data in your home directory, but I don't know how that happened. I suppose your locale settings are nl_NL.UTF-8, right?

Try to rename or delete the .gnumericrc file located in the user's home directory.

Yes, and I've tried the normal us/eng options to with the same result.
I've deleted the .gnumericrc file with the same result Sad

Hardware in use: Compaq PIII- 1GHZ, Geforce 4000, 256mb, 80gb HD
Dutch Delicate Linux information: http://www.delicatelinux.nl.ae
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2012, 09:19 PM
Post: #4
RE: 'Domino tiles' in Gnumeric
(03-16-2012 09:10 PM)nl2stk Wrote:  
(03-16-2012 08:40 PM)tavvva Wrote:  Uhhh ohhh .... those "domino tiles" are unicode characters which are missing the right font to be displayed correctly. It very probably has any data in your home directory, but I don't know how that happened. I suppose your locale settings are nl_NL.UTF-8, right?

Try to rename or delete the .gnumericrc file located in the user's home directory.

Yes, and I've tried the normal us/eng options to with the same result.
I've deleted the .gnumericrc file with the same result Sad

What happens if you create a new user (called test or something), then login as the new user and try gnumeric from that account?

If that works from the root account, then it might be some permissions related issue. I don't feel very confident when I see such issues. Anyway, I can't reproduce it here. I could look at that issue tomorrow (doing things like fonts removal, etc.)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2012, 09:24 PM (This post was last modified: 03-16-2012 09:26 PM by tavvva.)
Post: #5
RE: 'Domino tiles' in Gnumeric
Do you see any errors/warnings if you run gnumeric from the terminal? Could you please attach the terminal log?

gnumeric &> gnumeric-log.txt
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2012, 09:37 PM
Post: #6
RE: 'Domino tiles' in Gnumeric
The file stays empty.

Hardware in use: Compaq PIII- 1GHZ, Geforce 4000, 256mb, 80gb HD
Dutch Delicate Linux information: http://www.delicatelinux.nl.ae
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2012, 10:49 PM
Post: #7
RE: 'Domino tiles' in Gnumeric
(03-16-2012 09:37 PM)nl2stk Wrote:  The file stays empty.

ok ... I expect the same result if you don't redirect it to file ....

in that case try strace ...

strace gnumeric &> gnumeric-strace.txt
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2012, 10:57 PM (This post was last modified: 03-16-2012 11:24 PM by nl2stk.)
Post: #8
RE: 'Domino tiles' in Gnumeric
sh: stace: command not found

--> Edit it seems that it works better when strace is installed :DOINK:

But it's rather a big file
1.48 mb

Hardware in use: Compaq PIII- 1GHZ, Geforce 4000, 256mb, 80gb HD
Dutch Delicate Linux information: http://www.delicatelinux.nl.ae
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2012, 11:45 PM
Post: #9
RE: 'Domino tiles' in Gnumeric
(03-16-2012 10:57 PM)nl2stk Wrote:  sh: stace: command not found

--> Edit it seems that it works better when strace is installed :DOINK:

But it's rather a big file
1.48 mb

could You please send it by email? or attach somewhere and share the link?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2012, 11:59 PM
Post: #10
RE: 'Domino tiles' in Gnumeric
(03-16-2012 11:45 PM)tavvva Wrote:  could You please send it by email? or attach somewhere and share the link?

Well pretty unexpected it's with tar so small that I can even attached it :]


Attached File(s)
.gz  gnumeric-strace.tar.gz (Size: 82.59 KB / Downloads: 5)

Hardware in use: Compaq PIII- 1GHZ, Geforce 4000, 256mb, 80gb HD
Dutch Delicate Linux information: http://www.delicatelinux.nl.ae
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us | DeLi(cate) Linux | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication