Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Very old laptop - need some help :)
02-10-2012, 12:46 AM
Post: #11
RE: Very old laptop - need some help :)
a)In the second case a very controlled pressure on the button can move the head in the right direction and the floppy could start reading better. But the button needs to stay under a constant pressure until the data are successfuly read.

I tried it several times and didnt manage to do anything at all so I will go to the one try solution Smile

b)Please, provide me with output of the following command:
ls /dev/fd*

and I get this back
/dev/fd0 /dev/fd0u1600 /dev/fd0u1760 /dev/fd0u720
/dev/fd0u1049 /dev/fd0u1680 /dev/fd0u1840 /dev/fd0u800
/dev/fd0u1120 /dev/fd0u1722 /dev/fd0u1920 /dev/fd0u820
/dev/fd0u1440 /dev/fd0u1743 /dev/fd0u360 /dev/fd0u830

/dev/fd:
0 1 2 3
[root@deli ~]#_

c)Question .... do You have a working network connection under the DeLi 0.7.2 ?

not yet I need to setup my pcmcia wireless card and then search for network but I dont know how to do it yet Smile

d)Question2 ..... how much free space do You have on the rootfs ?

let me see Smile
size = 902M ( I use 128 for swap ), used = 389M, free = 467M

e)Question3 ..... Are you sure Your laptop isn't able to boot from the CD ?

positive its a bull**** that compaq had on most laptops ( softboot-rompaq ) but I never had this disk to set it up to have this option ( boot from cd ) but I tried to d/load it and install (failed again) I made a boot disk and fail , last try I made 2 boot disks from my pc under windows that are readeble but still fail to boot the laptop from disk ( maybe dying floppy ) so I will go on for the last shot [( god help us Smile]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-10-2012, 01:18 PM (This post was last modified: 02-10-2012 01:53 PM by euronet.)
Post: #12
RE: Very old laptop - need some help :)
ooook new day today Smile
I finished hard work (update from 0.72 to Deli(cate) 0.1) succesfully this morning (06:00) then I went to sleep
I followed the [DeLi(cate)_0.1alpha2-GUI.mp4 instructions] and so far I am satisfied
as I said 1 step each time so now I need to set my pcmcia card to work in order to connect to internet / need help here Smile
also I need to resize the window size it seems too small and mouse also needs set ( pointer is followed by a square shadow ) / edit : done , I changed settings now I have full screen, mouse ok
but .. I am very happy at the moment Smile)))
once again thanks for ur help
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-10-2012, 09:06 PM (This post was last modified: 02-10-2012 09:18 PM by tavvva.)
Post: #13
RE: Very old laptop - need some help :)
(02-10-2012 01:18 PM)euronet Wrote:  ooook new day today Smile
I finished hard work (update from 0.72 to Deli(cate) 0.1) succesfully this morning (06:00) then I went to sleep

I'm glad to read that ...

(02-10-2012 01:18 PM)euronet Wrote:  I followed the [DeLi(cate)_0.1alpha2-GUI.mp4 instructions] and so far I am satisfied
as I said 1 step each time so now I need to set my pcmcia card to work in order to connect to internet / need help here Smile

I'll try to help. Your laptop could possibly use the same modules like COMPAQ Armada 1700 tested by me.
http://delicate-linux.net/forum/showthread.php?tid=65

First try the following two commands from the root account:
modprobe yenta_socket
modprobe ds


if they work without errors, then insert Your card and check the lspci output if the card is listed ... and also check the dmesg output if the card insertion has been detected ...

If so, then try to add the following two lines in the /etc/rc.modules (under the /sbin/depmod -a):

/sbin/modprobe yenta_socket
/sbin/modprobe ds


this should automatically load the mentioned PCMCIA modules after each reboot ...

once this is done, You can try to autodetect the card and configure the network using the delisetup / Setup Network from the root account ...
EDIT : autodetection doesn't work for wireless cards ... please, read my next post in this thread

If anything fails, then simply do not continue and let me know ....

(02-10-2012 01:18 PM)euronet Wrote:  also I need to resize the window size it seems too small and mouse also needs set ( pointer is followed by a square shadow ) / edit : done , I changed settings now I have full screen, mouse ok
but .. I am very happy at the moment Smile)))
once again thanks for ur help

You're welcome! Thank You for the feedback....
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-10-2012, 09:17 PM
Post: #14
RE: Very old laptop - need some help :)
Sorry .... I somehow forgot You have a wireless card .... that could be a problem. The wireless support is still experimental and only a limited set of wireless cards is currently supported.

Please ...
1.) let me know what manufacturer/model it is.
2.) provide me with the corresponding line of the lspci -nn output ...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-10-2012, 10:13 PM (This post was last modified: 02-10-2012 10:34 PM by euronet.)
Post: #15
RE: Very old laptop - need some help :)
modprobe yenta_socket = no such device ... failed
modprobe ds = ok
lspci -nn = ok {
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Opti Inc. 82C557 [Viper-M] [1045:c557] (rev 14)
00:01.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Opti Inc. 82C558 [Viper-M ISA + IDE] [1045:c558] (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Cirrus Logic GD 7548 [1013:0038]
00:14.0 IDE interface [0101]: Opti Inc. 82C621 [Viper-M/n+] [1045:c621] (rev 12) }

I did all these through xterm

edit: my pcmcia wireless card is edimax ( EW-7108PCg )
thanks again
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-10-2012, 11:10 PM (This post was last modified: 02-11-2012 07:53 AM by tavvva.)
Post: #16
RE: Very old laptop - need some help :)
(02-10-2012 10:13 PM)euronet Wrote:  modprobe yenta_socket = no such device ... failed

This can be caused by two things:
1.) it needs a different PCMCIA driver ... in such case try to modprobe i82365 instead of yenta_socket ... the rest steps should be the same ...
-OR-
2.) your laptop doesn't like ACPI .... in such case try to boot the second bootloader entry with [acpi=off] and repeat the procedure ....

(02-10-2012 10:13 PM)euronet Wrote:  modprobe ds = ok
lspci -nn = ok {
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Opti Inc. 82C557 [Viper-M] [1045:c557] (rev 14)
00:01.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Opti Inc. 82C558 [Viper-M ISA + IDE] [1045:c558] (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Cirrus Logic GD 7548 [1013:0038]
00:14.0 IDE interface [0101]: Opti Inc. 82C621 [Viper-M/n+] [1045:c621] (rev 12) }

I did all these through xterm

edit: my pcmcia wireless card is edimax ( EW-7108PCg )
thanks again

You're lucky one .... this card is well supported, but first we need to make the PCMCIA slot working ..... once this is done, the card should work with the driver-wireless-rt61 package .... you can find a short howto here: http://delicate-linux.net/forum/showthread.php?tid=36

NOTE: The Alpha2 CD still contains the older version of the driver (using the ra0 interface name instead of eth0). So ... if You manage to make it work and update all components, don't forget to undo Your changes in the net script.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-11-2012, 11:10 AM
Post: #17
RE: Very old laptop - need some help :)
1.) Load the module:
modprobe rt61

Can't locate module rt61

any ideas how to find it ? so I can start the procedure
thanks again
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-11-2012, 12:18 PM (This post was last modified: 02-11-2012 02:55 PM by tavvva.)
Post: #18
RE: Very old laptop - need some help :)
(02-11-2012 11:10 AM)euronet Wrote:  1.) Load the module:
modprobe rt61

Can't locate module rt61

any ideas how to find it ? so I can start the procedure
thanks again

The module needs to be installed. Just install the previously mentioned driver package driver-wireless-rt61. It's on the CD ...

If your CDROM is accessible under /dev/hdb, then you need to mount the CD with the following command:
mount /dev/hdb /cdrom

... once it's mounted, use pacman to install the package....
pacman -S driver-wireless-rt61

BUT ... this has no sense until You make Your PCMCIA working .... Your previous lspci -nn listing didn't contain the wifi-card and that's because you didn't manage to make the PCMCIA slot working yet.

I'm reading some threads about the PCMCIA controller in Your laptop and it seems it needs an external PCMCIA driver called pcmcia-cs. I need to build this driver first. So ... please, give me some time to do so. I'll let You know once this is done.
In the meantime You could try what I proposed in the previous post ( i82365 -or- acpi=off )
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-11-2012, 06:57 PM
Post: #19
RE: Very old laptop - need some help :)
I tried with i82365 and acpi=off / no results
I dont know if it matters cause I am a bit noob but I will write it
after dmesg I see that my pcmcia device is: Cirrus PD672x ISA-to-PCMCIA at port bla bla, 2 sockets
my question is ( cause it doesnt see my card ) do we have the correct driver for this device ?

also when I do : pacman -S driver-wireless-rt61 ( after mounting the cdrom )
I get error: could not open sync database: main have u used --refresh yet?

thanks again
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-11-2012, 07:40 PM (This post was last modified: 02-11-2012 10:39 PM by tavvva.)
Post: #20
RE: Very old laptop - need some help :)
(02-11-2012 06:57 PM)euronet Wrote:  I tried with i82365 and acpi=off / no results
I dont know if it matters cause I am a bit noob but I will write it
after dmesg I see that my pcmcia device is: Cirrus PD672x ISA-to-PCMCIA at port bla bla, 2 sockets
my question is ( cause it doesnt see my card ) do we have the correct driver for this device ?

Let me tell You the story ... long time ago there were no pcmcia drivers in the kernel ... but, there was an external driver called "pcmcia-cs" ... it contained one BIG i82365 kernel module supporting many PCMCIA controllers .... later some parts of this driver were included directly in the kernel but they were split to more modules and some parts were forgotten or intentionally skipped .... thus the i82365 You just tried to load is much smaller than the original i82365 module from pcmcia-cs and supports only a subset of PCMCIA controllers ... I just built the original pcmcia-cs modules and trying to test them right now .... so .... give me some time to do that and I'll share them ....

I also read somewhere, that even with the original pcmcia-cs driver You have to supply one parameter manually in order to make it work .... it was fast_pci if I remember correctly .....

(02-11-2012 06:57 PM)euronet Wrote:  also when I do : pacman -S driver-wireless-rt61 ( after mounting the cdrom )
I get error: could not open sync database: main have u used --refresh yet?

thanks again

Sorry .... I forgot to tell You that You need to sync the database after mounting the CD .... the following command can do that for You ...

pacman -Sy

You can eventually do both steps together .... pacman -Sy driver-wireless-rt61
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us | DeLi(cate) Linux | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication