Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[python] help, get rid of 686 in setup.
12-06-2011, 11:14 PM
Post: #1
[python] help, get rid of 686 in setup.
I was trying to build a panel for openbox. Fspanel is working but looks very early nineties, so I thought pypanel would be nice. Almost every dependency is found in the repository so that shouldn't be a problem.
Only the python-xlib needs to be made and that was very easy to do.
Here is the PKGBUILD:

Code:
# Maintainer: Theo - nl2stk
# Thanks to: Jeff Mickey

pkgname=python-xlib
pkgver=0.15rc1
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="A fully functional X client library for Python programs"
url="http://python-xlib.sourceforge.net/"
license=('GPL')
depends=('python')
source=(http://downloads.sourceforge.net/$pkgname/$pkgname-$pkgver.tar.gz)
md5sums=('7941e91bc3e92dc921dfc930cc8f7830')

build() {
  cd $srcdir/$pkgname-$pkgver
  python setup.py install --root=$pkgdir
}

Well that couldn't be easier, so with all the dependencies installed on my computer it was time for the pypanel PKGBUILD, which contains also a ' python setup.py...'.
Here is the one:

Code:
# Maintainer: theo - nl2stk
# Thanks to: Lukas Fleischer

pkgname=pypanel
pkgver=2.4
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc='A lightweight panel/taskbar for X11 window managers written in python.'
url='http://pypanel.sourceforge.net/'
license=('GPL')
depends=('python' 'xorg-server' 'python-xlib' 'imlib2' 'libxfont')
source=("http://downloads.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/pypanel/PyPanel-${pkgver}.tar.gz")
md5sums=('f1f9a2ed80be72ab36e748833618daba')

build() {
  cd "${srcdir}/PyPanel-${pkgver}"
  python setup.py install --root="${pkgdir}"
}

It runs and makes the package, but... it detects a 686 processor and I don't know if it has influence on the package.
Is there some kind of standard thing to keep in mind to disable this option?
My knowledge about python is almost to get something as ' hello world' on the screen.

Hardware in use: Compaq PIII- 1GHZ, Geforce 4000, 256mb, 80gb HD
Dutch Delicate Linux information: http://www.delicatelinux.nl.ae
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2012, 03:55 PM
Post: #2
RE: [python] help, get rid of 686 in setup.
I somehow forget about this post .... do You still need help with that?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2012, 05:12 PM
Post: #3
RE: [python] help, get rid of 686 in setup.
(01-27-2012 03:55 PM)tavvva Wrote:  I somehow forget about this post .... do You still need help with that?

Well it works on the P3, but I thought it would be nice to offer a package in 386 modus. I believe that a panel is very handy in cases like 'OpenBox'.

Hardware in use: Compaq PIII- 1GHZ, Geforce 4000, 256mb, 80gb HD
Dutch Delicate Linux information: http://www.delicatelinux.nl.ae
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-10-2012, 06:29 PM
Post: #4
RE: [python] help, get rid of 686 in setup.
(01-27-2012 05:12 PM)nl2stk Wrote:  
(01-27-2012 03:55 PM)tavvva Wrote:  I somehow forget about this post .... do You still need help with that?

Well it works on the P3, but I thought it would be nice to offer a package in 386 modus. I believe that a panel is very handy in cases like 'OpenBox'.

I've finally found some time to look at this thing. It seems it's ok. The binary object is created with --march=i386 and the i686 keyword appears only in the temporary directory in the build path. I believe the build is i386 compatible. I've already built that and it's in the repository.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2012, 08:59 PM
Post: #5
RE: [python] help, get rid of 686 in setup.
(07-10-2012 06:29 PM)tavvva Wrote:  [I've finally found some time to look at this thing. It seems it's ok. The binary object is created with --march=i386 and the i686 keyword appears only in the temporary directory in the build path. I believe the build is i386 compatible. I've already built that and it's in the repository.

One dependency is missing in the repo.
python-xlib :]

Without it it's immpossible to install it..

b.t.w. the same goes for SimCoupe (the dependency that emulates the philips SAA soundchip).

Hardware in use: Compaq PIII- 1GHZ, Geforce 4000, 256mb, 80gb HD
Dutch Delicate Linux information: http://www.delicatelinux.nl.ae
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2012, 03:00 AM
Post: #6
RE: [python] help, get rid of 686 in setup.
Somewhat related, I've had to create a symlink from /usr/bin/python2.4 to /usr/bin/python2, since some PKGBUILDs call for python2.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2012, 08:10 AM
Post: #7
RE: [python] help, get rid of 686 in setup.
(07-14-2012 03:00 AM)snacsnoc Wrote:  Somewhat related, I've had to create a symlink from /usr/bin/python2.4 to /usr/bin/python2, since some PKGBUILDs call for python2.

I believe that differs from Arch, since Delicate has one python package it's easier to strip out the 'sed line' in the PKGBUILD files and just put 'python' in the dependencies instead of 'python2'. In your workaround it's working, but I gues only for you and not the machines without the symlink :]

Hardware in use: Compaq PIII- 1GHZ, Geforce 4000, 256mb, 80gb HD
Dutch Delicate Linux information: http://www.delicatelinux.nl.ae
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2012, 01:16 PM
Post: #8
RE: [python] help, get rid of 686 in setup.
(07-13-2012 08:59 PM)nl2stk Wrote:  python-xlib :]

Without it it's immpossible to install it..

b.t.w. the same goes for SimCoupe (the dependency that emulates the philips SAA soundchip).

Fixed .... thanks.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2012, 01:21 PM
Post: #9
RE: [python] help, get rid of 686 in setup.
(07-14-2012 08:10 AM)nl2stk Wrote:  
(07-14-2012 03:00 AM)snacsnoc Wrote:  Somewhat related, I've had to create a symlink from /usr/bin/python2.4 to /usr/bin/python2, since some PKGBUILDs call for python2.

I believe that differs from Arch, since Delicate has one python package it's easier to strip out the 'sed line' in the PKGBUILD files and just put 'python' in the dependencies instead of 'python2'. In your workaround it's working, but I gues only for you and not the machines without the symlink :]

Yup ... local symlink creation is not a solution. We could eventually introduce such symlink in the python package ... It depends on the number of such cases ...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us | DeLi(cate) Linux | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication