Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
about pci wireless adapter
01-20-2012, 07:13 PM
Post: #11
RE: about pci wireless adapter
(01-20-2012 09:54 AM)tavvva Wrote:  
(01-20-2012 12:43 AM)gregoriosamsa Wrote:  

ath5k/ath9k driver is in the 2.6 series kernel ....
I've build the madwifi-hal package for You, but without any testing ....

http://delicate.tavvva.net/0.1/pkg/noupd...pkg.tar.gz

The module should be loaded with
/sbin/modprobe ath_pci

and then check the dmesg output and the ifconfig -a output for the device presence.

Even if the driver works for You, there might be issues with the WPA support ...

You could eventually try to make it working with the following WPA supplicant package ... But I couldn't test that ...
http://delicate.tavvva.net/0.1/pkg/noupd...pkg.tar.gz

Wireless support in DeLi(cate) is still experimental .... only the listed Realtek devices were successfully tested by me.
This could need a lot of fighting ... so .... good luck!
I'm interested in the results and possible troubleshooting.

hi. my knowledge in wireless is null Confused...
the dmesg:
AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, AR5416, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413, RF2133, RF2425, RF2417)

and the ifconfig -a:
lo link encap: local loopback
loopback mtu:16436 metric:1
rx packets: 0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
tx """ """""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
rx bytes:0 (0.0 b) tx bytes:0 (0.0 b)

what is that mean?

/** sorry for my bad english **/** perdon por mi mal ingles **/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-20-2012, 08:29 PM (This post was last modified: 01-20-2012 09:05 PM by tavvva.)
Post: #12
RE: about pci wireless adapter
Quote:hi. my knowledge in wireless is null Confused...
the dmesg:
AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, AR5416, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413, RF2133, RF2425, RF2417)

and the ifconfig -a:
lo link encap: local loopback
loopback mtu:16436 metric:1
rx packets: 0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
tx """ """""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
rx bytes:0 (0.0 b) tx bytes:0 (0.0 b)

what is that mean?

the ath0 interface doesn't seem to be present ...

please, provide me with the lspci -nn listing

The outputs look like this in my case:

dmesg ...
Code:
AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, AR5416, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413, RF2133, RF2425, RF2417)
cs: cb_alloc(bus 1): vendor 0x168c, device 0x001d
PCI: Enabling device 01:00.0 (0000 -> 0002)
MadWifi: ath_attach: Switching rfkill capability off.
wifi0: Atheros AR2425 chip found (MAC 15.0, PHY SChip 7.0, Radio 10.2)
ath_pci: wifi0: Atheros 2417: mem=0x10400000, irq=11

ifconfig -a
Code:
ath0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 74:EA:A3:EF:2A:ED  
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

wifi0     Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 74-EA-A3-EF-2A-ED-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:280
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
          Interrupt:11
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-20-2012, 09:09 PM (This post was last modified: 01-20-2012 10:05 PM by gregoriosamsa.)
Post: #13
RE: about pci wireless adapter
[/quote]

the dmesg output is incomplete ...so ... i can't tell You more ...the ath0 interface doesn't seem to be present .... have You loaded the module ?

please, provide me with the lspci -nn listing
[/quote]

is all the dmesg about wireless and the modules are loaded
this is a message when turn on the computer (the modules load when turn on):
warning: loading /lib/modules/2.4.37.1 net/ath_hal.o will taint the kernel: non
gpl license
see http://www.tux.org/...
AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, AR5416, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413, RF2133, RF2425, RF2417)

module ath_hal loaded with warnings
module wlan loaded " "
module ath_pci loaded " "


i have delicate alpha 1 without any package upgrade.. could be a problem?

/** sorry for my bad english **/** perdon por mi mal ingles **/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2012, 01:23 AM
Post: #14
RE: about pci wireless adapter
(01-20-2012 09:09 PM)gregoriosamsa Wrote:  i have delicate alpha 1 without any package upgrade.. could be a problem?

alpha1 is enough ... it seems that your card isn't supported by the madwifi driver ....

but please ... attach the lspci -nn output first (the line containig the atheros card is what I need)


btw. Your english is fine.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2012, 07:58 PM
Post: #15
RE: about pci wireless adapter
(01-21-2012 01:23 AM)tavvva Wrote:  
(01-20-2012 09:09 PM)gregoriosamsa Wrote:  i have delicate alpha 1 without any package upgrade.. could be a problem?

alpha1 is enough ... it seems that your card isn't supported by the madwifi driver ....

but please ... attach the lspci -nn output first (the line containig the atheros card is what I need)


btw. Your english is fine.

hi ..there are no line about the atheos card in the lspci -nn ouput. Undecided

/** sorry for my bad english **/** perdon por mi mal ingles **/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2012, 08:18 PM (This post was last modified: 01-21-2012 08:18 PM by tavvva.)
Post: #16
RE: about pci wireless adapter
(01-21-2012 07:58 PM)gregoriosamsa Wrote:  hi ..there are no line about the atheos card in the lspci -nn ouput. Undecided

Ouuu .... please, check, if it is correctly seated in the PCI slot and if it is compatible with Your PCI bus revision. Sometimes PCI cards need to be placed in a different slot (I remember I had to move some of my cards to so called BusMaster slots).
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-22-2012, 01:54 AM
Post: #17
RE: about pci wireless adapter
(01-21-2012 08:18 PM)tavvva Wrote:  
(01-21-2012 07:58 PM)gregoriosamsa Wrote:  hi ..there are no line about the atheos card in the lspci -nn ouput. Undecided

Ouuu .... please, check, if it is correctly seated in the PCI slot and if it is compatible with Your PCI bus revision. Sometimes PCI cards need to be placed in a different slot (I remember I had to move some of my cards to so called BusMaster slots).


i try all the slots and none..Angry i will search another card
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-22-2012, 11:39 AM
Post: #18
RE: about pci wireless adapter
(01-22-2012 01:54 AM)gregoriosamsa Wrote:  i try all the slots and none..Angry i will search another card

Maybe the card is just broken .... does it work in a different computer or with different OS on the same computer?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-22-2012, 09:35 PM
Post: #19
RE: about pci wireless adapter
(01-22-2012 11:39 AM)tavvva Wrote:  
(01-22-2012 01:54 AM)gregoriosamsa Wrote:  i try all the slots and none..Angry i will search another card

Maybe the card is just broken .... does it work in a different computer or with different OS on the same computer?

hi...the card work's fine.. i test it in another computer

/** sorry for my bad english **/** perdon por mi mal ingles **/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-22-2012, 09:46 PM (This post was last modified: 01-22-2012 09:48 PM by tavvva.)
Post: #20
RE: about pci wireless adapter
(01-22-2012 09:35 PM)gregoriosamsa Wrote:  hi...the card work's fine.. i test it in another computer

Could You please try to boot with the acpi=off kernel parameter? Alpha2 CD offers that automatically in the bootloader ...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread:

Contact Us | DeLi(cate) Linux | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication